Finding “A Good Fit” with One’s Individual Career Needs

In my foundational social work placement I was placed at a subsidized housing building for persons with mental health issues, which provided both meaningful learning and personal growth for me despite my initial disappointment at not being placed in an organization where I could gain experience working with children. This internship allowed me an opportunity to transcend from the theoretical to the practical as I made good use of all the attending skills I had developed through academic exercises in navigating the counseling, case management, and socialization needs of residents, while prioritizing ethical standards like client-centred care, confidentiality, etc. Near the end of the practicum I met with my placement supervisor to jointly review the necessary final evaluation form. The meeting began with her disclaimer that although ratings were from 1 to 5, with 1 being unacceptable, 5 being exceptional, 3 was a pass and the level that students were expected to be, so it would be unrealistic to expect higher as an intern….

Full Story @ http://sjs.li/1Ir4Cp7
#Employment, #JobSearchAdvice, #SocialWork

Leave a Reply

