Six ways political protest is more than self-indulgence

I lost faith in the power of political protest on 19 March 2003 – the day it became clear that millions of people out on the streets across the world had failed to avert allied invasion of Iraq.

I do not, however, totally agree with Liz Thompson’s hardball critique of current protest in Australia (against offshore processing of asylum seekers) (click here).

“I am not speaking at the Close Manus rally,” Liz writes. “I don’t honestly believe a rally such as this does anything. ’Not in our name’ is a self-referential slogan, it speaks about us, not about those behind the wire.”

I agree. Partly. But I also found myself listing some of the reasons I still (occasionally) attend rallies. Here are six of them:

Full Story @ http://sjs.li/1fiCZRV
#HumanRights, #PoliticalProtests, #Power

Leave a Reply

